top of page

Can't Get Enough

We have all become known that 2017 winter is drier and the hottest since 1910 since national record began. When dark, it is freezing. Well I guess the best thing to keep the brain working is the food.

What is food?

By definition, it is something that provides nutrients and nourishment to oneself.

Did you eat food today? Me? I just can't get enough.

Golden Turmeric Chai Latte

Coles Magazine (2017 June Issue) http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/golden-turmeric-chai-latte/U4IECb1d

This recipe was love at first sight. The preparation is simple and the outcome is stunning. I did vary some listed ingredients. For example, I used cinnamon powder instead of cinnamon stick. Either unsweetened or sweetened soy milk produces satisfactory results.

"What a nice way to start the day :)" - Markus.

Pick of the season

"Lite and Easy" for Bobby

This idea comes from the fact that Bobby deliberately picks out the chicken and leaves the veggies from each meal (almost). However, if I hand feed him, the same vegetable can become delicious again - dogs logic.

Therefore I had the pre-cooked meal for Bobby in the weekdays. The ingredients are simple, grilled chicken breast (labelled organic), carrot, peas, broccoli, pumpkin, coconut oil, sweet potato. All the veggies are raw and just need chopped roughly. Depends on what we have in the frigde that day, the veggies can be changed. The coconut oil will definitely give the mixture a lure.

I also tried to bake the mixture, into a bar or ball. I just replaced the cooked chicken breast with the raw. It came out beautifully with a pretty much doggie aroma.

Bobby loves it. At least I hope so.

Drive to thrive

Turmeric Twisted Vegetable Dumpling

Yes it is turmeric again! Isn't the filling looking gorgeous?​

​Dumpling wrap: abnormal squared wraps from Supabarn which are supposed to be the wonton wrap I guess. Best out of the worst.

Filing: The combination includes organic firm tofu, Chinese style tofu sheet, konjac noodle (Slendia calorie clever and it is highly recommended , zucchini, scrambled egg, spring onion, shredded carrot. Seasoning is even simpler, just salt and golden turmeric.

I had in the soup too, which is just the cooking water with a drizzle of Chinese black vinegar.

The excess filing was enjoyed on a plain and slightly toasted croissant. When bite into it, oh, you gotta try!

Lesson learnt: the filing needs be oil (usually sesame oil) coated before seasoning. This is to prevent the vegetables getting watery during cooking process.

Konjac Noodle Salad

This noodle is my new favourite. It pretty much satisfies my passion to eat noodle (long & continuity), with only 10 calories per 100 grams. You don't even need to cook it - well you might argue this is an unhealthy processed food. I do agree but I try not to have it every week.

As a salad, you just need toss in whatever available in the fridge. A bit Korean chilli paste was added to highlight my weekend meal.

Konjac is taro

As you may noticed, this dish was eaten at the same time with the noodle salad. Simply scrambled eggs with soy milk.

Egg and spring onion are born to be together

You Bite

Bobby and I always love the Saturday the most. Under the slow motion, we usually kick off the day with cleaning, then an organised meal prep. For this month, I want to introduce "you bite", i.e. bite sized side dish/party treats/doggie party treats also.

The base is usually baked root vegetables (olive oil sprayed). You just need layer up with anything you like. It is totally fine to combine sweet and savoury, if you do it well. The natural flavour of each layer will not offset but enhance each other. This is the beauty of seasoning free.

To emphasis on the baked vegetable, my favourite is the SWEET POTATO! Bobby and I often have it as breakfast. What can go wrong when you bake the sweet potatoes on a cold winter morning and the whole house is full of the caremalised sugar! Yum yum yum! Yes I heard you, sugar and carbs.

I don't care. I love my food. Bobby too. We can assure you the healthy food and healthy poop~

Pumpkin pal
SP love

Basic Butter Cake

Woolworths Fresh Magazine (2017 July Issue) https://www.woolworths.com.au/shop/recipedetail/5883/basic-butter-cake

Another recipe to share in this month is the cake bake. I screw up the baking 9/10 times, including this one.

Ok the desired outcome, I guess, is a fluffy cake. Until here you already know, mine is not (the round cake on the right side). But I outbeat the receipe with my added ingredients.

Variation 1 - chia seeds and white sesame (round cake on the left)

Perfection comes within

Variation 2 - above + turmeric (again?)

Daisy and Bobby waited in the kitchen patiently and judged on the cakes, eventually.

Golden turmeric infused tea cake
Any more?

Bento Boxes

Most of the weeks, I did not (need) eat out at all. I love the way I feed myself.

Pround bento boxes

From left to right and top to bottom:

1. ESS Breakkie

Scrambled eggs with spring onion sprinkled on top (salt optional); 2 smoked apple sage sausages; light stir fry English spinach (salt optional)

2. The Contrast

Woolies packaged crunchy salad (beetroot, carrot and cabbage) and chunk avocado, salt and pepper added. The contrast comes from the texture and color.

3. Compulsory Repeat

Frozen veggie paella (see #6 below) with fresh tomato and English Spinach. I had this similar meal for a few days. Originally I cooked a batch of the rice then decided to take a grain-free diet week. Hence the remainders are frozen.

4. Salad Supreme

Cooked quinoa, 2 boiled organic and free range eggs, 3 pieces of halloumi cheese, and ice burg lettuce salad with radish/cucumber/peas. This salad fit well during my grain-free weeks.

5. Soup Follow on

Lentils soup (left over) with fresh Chinese cabbage and coriander. It tastes just as fresh as it is.

6. Paella feat. Sticky Rice

Medium grain and sticky rice cooked with Aldi vegetable stock cube, added tomato, peas, zucchini, celery, onion and carrot I think 😑 I usually prefer varieties but this meal is quick and handy for a weekday lunch.

♥After all the story telling, which one would you like to try?♥

♥Let me know if you can't get enough too.♥

bottom of page